All Glory Days


Do you have faith glory days? memories of blessed times?  We often associate God’s presence and blessing with our cup running over or being used by God. Why do we do this? God loves us and is with us through every storm and blessing and fire and reward…

2 “How I long for the months gone by,
for the days when God watched over me,
3 when his lamp shone on my head
and by his light I walked through darkness!
4 Oh, for the days when I was in my prime,
when God’s intimate friendship blessed my house,
5 when the Almighty was still with me
and my children were around me,
6 when my path was drenched with cream
and the rock poured out for me streams of olive oil.

11 Whoever heard me spoke well of me,
and those who saw me commended me,
12 because I rescued the poor who cried for help,
and the fatherless who had none to assist them.
13 The one who was dying blessed me;
I made the widow’s heart sing.
14 I put on righteousness as my clothing;
justice was my robe and my turban.
15 I was eyes to the blind
and feet to the lame.
16 I was a father to the needy;
I took up the case of the stranger.

1 But now they mock me…
Job 29:2-6, 11-16, 30:1

Job is longing for his faith glory days.  There was a time when he felt the watchful, caring, oversight of the Lord upon his life.  He felt blessed and protected and led.  He was in his prime when God’s intimate friendship blessed his house.

Are you there?  Do you feel that intimacy with God now or is it a distant memory from your past? Or have you never been there and long for that sort of blessed relationship with your saviour?  This is how God wants to relate to us.  And even when we are under attack, he wants us to know that he is watching over us.  Job doesn’t feel it now, yet God is still there and protecting him.  Satan has no power in Job’s life apart from what God allows.

What is different in Job’s case is that no longer does he see his path drenched with cream.  What a perfect image.  We often associate God’s presence and his blessing with cream – with gravy – with our cup running over. Have you seen those glory days?  Remember, God is still there now.

Job also ties his reputation in the community to God’s blessing.  Job served God by serving other people, he helped the needy and comforted the dying.  He protected the fatherless and made the widow’s heart sing.  Our fulfillment as Christians is often tied up in our value in the service to others.  Remember that God values you because of who you are and not because of what you do.

And after all of this, as Job reflects on his glory days, he now faces the mocking of his community, because his life is in ruin in their eyes. What a predicament. They think his God has abandoned him because of outward signs and meanwhile, God is still in the same place and with the same love for Job he has always had.

Why do we do this to each other and to ourselves? Why do we judge God based on what we see in the life of our brother or sister? And why do we evaluate God’s presence by our circumstance?  He loves us and is with us in all things. Our response to him should reflect these truths.

We cannot change what people think, yet if people see us continuing to trust God and love God in every storm and blessing and fire and reward, they will see that our relationship with God exists above and beyond our situation…

Amen.

Marc Kinna

 

This entry was posted in Job and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

