Answer God’s Call


God had a plan for the prophet Jeremiah before his birth. Do you know God’s plan for you? Serve God when he calls you. We are to live lives worthy of the calling of God. Feeling unworthy? God has chosen to use the unworthy for worthy purposes. Answer his call!

1 The words of Jeremiah son of Hilkiah, one of the priests at Anathoth in the territory of Benjamin. 2 The word of the Lord came to him in the thirteenth year of the reign of Josiah son of Amon king of Judah, 3 and through the reign of Jehoiakim son of Josiah king of Judah, down to the fifth month of the eleventh year of Zedekiah son of Josiah king of Judah, when the people of Jerusalem went into exile.

4 The word of the Lord came to me, saying,

5 “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you,
before you were born I set you apart;
I appointed you as a prophet to the nations.”

6 “Alas, Sovereign Lord,” I said, “I do not know how to speak; I am too young.”

7 But the Lord said to me, “Do not say, ‘I am too young.’ You must go to everyone I send you to and say whatever I command you. 8 Do not be afraid of them, for I am with you and will rescue you,” declares the Lord.

9 Then the Lord reached out his hand and touched my mouth and said to me, “I have put my words in your mouth.”

17 “Get yourself ready! Stand up and say to them whatever I command you. Do not be terrified by them, or I will terrify you before them.

19 They will fight against you but will not overcome you, for I am with you and will rescue you,” declares the Lord.”
Jeremiah 1:1-9, 17, 19

Jeremiah was a priest and a prophet. I find it interesting that he served under the great king Josiah all the way through to the exile of the people of Jerusalem. Jeremiah saw the decline of God’s people into their exile, and it will be quite a ride down with them.

God is telling Jeremiah that although calamity is coming and the people will not accept his words, God will be with him. In fact, God determined to be with Jeremiah from before he was formed in is mother’s womb. God had a plan for Jeremiah from before his birth.

Do you know God’s plan for you?

If you are like me, you often wonder, why me? Why would God ever use me? I am a cracked and broken pot which is not fit for the service of God, yet he chooses to use me. I am a wanderer who trips and stumbles through following God. I regularly let God down and if I was God I would never use me.

And God says, you must…

You must go. You must say. You must serve God when he calls you. The gifts of God and the call of God are irrevocable (Romans 11:29). It will not go well for those called of God to ignore or mishandle the call of God. On the contrary, God desires for us to live lives worthy of the calling of God (Ephesians 4:1).

And although the world will fight against our calling and God’s use of us in this world, God will be with us and will be our rescue. Jesus promised to be with us until the end (Matthew 28:20).

So what are you waiting for? Are you waiting to be worthy? God has chosen to use the unworthy for worthy purposes. It is what you do and how you respond from today forward which matters.

Answer the call of God today.

Amen.

Marc Kinna

 

This entry was posted in Jeremiah and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

