Let Go of Idols, Hold on to God


Take heart. Be encouraged. Stop pursuing divine presence, strength, and help from the world. If we don’t feel God, it is likely because we are drawn away from God toward idols which cannot save or help us. Take hold of God’s hand as he takes hold of yours…

9 I took you from the ends of the earth,
from its farthest corners I called you.
I said, ‘You are my servant’;
I have chosen you and have not rejected you.
10 So do not fear, for I am with you;
do not be dismayed, for I am your God.
I will strengthen you and help you;
I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

13 For I am the Lord your God
who takes hold of your right hand
and says to you, Do not fear;
I will help you.
Isaiah 41:9-10, 13

In these prophetic words of Isaiah we see God tell us our story. If you read the whole chapter you will see him contrast his story with us against the story of idols, which have not rescued or called or cared for anyone. Interesting. We put confidence in so many earthly things, thinking they will provide insurance or protection or success. It is the Lord who is our help:

He took us from the ends of the earth, calling us all together to be his. We are to serve the Lord and so many of us get caught up serving idols instead. We serve the things which cannot help us…

Meanwhile, we are chosen by God. We are surrounded by his presence.

If we don’t feel God, it is likely because we are drawn away from God toward the idols of this world which cannot save or help us.

When we drift from our God, we fear, we take on anxiety, and we feel like grasshoppers in the sight of our adversaries and obstacles. This is not God’s plan.

I am with you.
I am your God.
I will strengthen you and help you.
I will uphold you.
I will help you.

Take heart. Be encouraged. And stop pursuing divine presence, strength, and help from the world. You won’t find them. You’ll be duped. You’ll miss the real thing. You’ll miss the best thing.

When God takes hold of your right hand, hold firm and tight to him and do not let go…

Amen.

Marc Kinna

 

This entry was posted in Isaiah and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

