Standard of Measure


Who is your standard? Do you look up to someone in life above everyone else? Like a mentor or an example for you in how you live and make decisions? Today I reflect on the standard of Jesus, who is our ultimate measure of how to live in this world…

Follow my example, as I follow the example of Christ.
1 Corinthians 11:1

In Gruyeres, Switzerland, I visited this old town and castle. On the main street of the village, there is this old measure of bushels which the local farmers would use when they brought their product to market.

Each section is for a different type of grain. And the standard of measure makes the playing field of harvest level. The farmer didn’t define the bushel. The measure was independent. The measure was a standard.

Jesus is our standard. And at the foot of the cross, the ground is level. We are all the same.  I should not measure myself against other humans. We don’t set the standard. God does. I also know that I will fall short of God’s glory (Romans 3:23) when I rely on myself and emulate the world.

Only as Jesus lives through me and in me do I approach the glory of God.

Paul writes that the people of his time should imitate him and follow his example as he follows the example of Jesus. It is important that anyone who holds himself up as a mentor to others be also holding up the image of Christ as the standard for himself. Don’t follow my shortcomings and human ways. Follow my surrender to God and surrender to him yourself.

There is only one Jesus, yet even as I reflected on these measures in Gruyeres, I wondered if the measure of your grain in Christ could be different from the measure of my wheat. Jesus is the sum of all weights and measures and my life may look different from yours as we follow his example.

Our world needs many forms of grace and love and truth. We can all follow Jesus and live out his image on earth while looking very different from one another…

Amen.

Marc Kinna

 

This entry was posted in 1Chronicles and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

