Final Commissioning


Paul summarized his life and times with Ephesus church leaders, giving a report card of his performance against his purpose. This is a self-evaluation. But we’ll find out it is more. This is a commissioning of these church leaders. He challenges them to full commitment…

24″But I do not account my life of any value nor as precious to myself, if only I may finish my course and the ministry that I received from the Lord Jesus, to testify to the gospel of the grace of God. 25 And now, behold, I know that none of you among whom I have gone about proclaiming the kingdom will see my face again. 26 Therefore I testify to you this day that I am innocent of the blood of all, 27 for I did not shrink from declaring to you the whole counsel of God. 28 Pay careful attention to yourselves and to all the flock, in which the Holy Spirit has made you overseers, to care for the church of God, which he obtained with his own blood.”
Acts 20:24-28 ESV

“I have been faithful.” I’m not sure I would stand in front of people so boldly and declare this. I think I’ve been faithful, but humility would keep me from broadcasting it. Is it the Canadian in me? Maybe so, but let’s remember that Paul’s self-evaluation is also a final sermon. It’s inspirational for these leaders from Ephesus.

Based on how Paul had conducted himself among them, he is certain that he isn’t responsible for anyone falling short of God’s grace. Romans 3:23 informs us that we all fall short of the glory of God because of our sin. Hebrews 12:15 challenges us to “Look after each other so that none of you fails to receive the grace of God.” Paul has done that. If someone falls short of receiving God’s grace, it isn’t on his head because he has been faithful to share the essential message of God which is forgiveness found through the Lord Jesus.

Paul reminds these church leaders that he didn’t shrink back from declaring the full counsel – the full plan of God – with them. By implication, when they return to Ephesus, they shall do the same. Keep the hammer down. Full steam ahead. This marvelous and miraculous plan of God to save the world through his Son must be declared without reservation. We can tell that this is Paul’s commissioning service for these shepherds for their next season of ministry.

“Pay careful attention to yourselves and to all the flock, in which the Holy Spirit has made you overseers, to care for the church of God, which he obtained with his own blood.” This is it. This is the punchline. You watched me, folks. You saw me. You heard me. My example was one of faithfulness, perseverance, and commitment to the gospel.

Now go and do likewise in your city and towns. Finish the work God has for you to do…

Amen.

Marc Kinna

This entry was posted in Acts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.