One With The Father


Jesus wants us to know that he is one with God the Father. And if believing him is a challenge for you, he says, ‘Believe the works. Believe my actions. See that I am doing what the Father does, in his power, for his glory, sent by him.’ Hear his voice calling you.

23 Jesus was in the temple courts walking in Solomon’s Colonnade. 24 The Jews who were there gathered around him, saying, “How long will you keep us in suspense? If you are the Messiah, tell us plainly.”

25 Jesus answered, “I did tell you, but you do not believe. The works I do in my Father’s name testify about me, 26 but you do not believe because you are not my sheep. 27 My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. 28 I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one will snatch them out of my hand. 29 My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all; no one can snatch them out of my Father’s hand. 30 I and the Father are one.”

31 Again his Jewish opponents picked up stones to stone him, 32 but Jesus said to them, “I have shown you many good works from the Father. For which of these do you stone me?”

33 “We are not stoning you for any good work,” they replied, “but for blasphemy, because you, a mere man, claim to be God.”

37 Do not believe me unless I do the works of my Father. 38 But if I do them, even though you do not believe me, believe the works, that you may know and understand that the Father is in me, and I in the Father.” 39 Again they tried to seize him, but he escaped their grasp.
John 10:22-33, 37-39 NIV

The opponents of Jesus asked him to openly share whether he is Messiah. Notice in vs 31 they are described as ‘opponents.’ I think it’s worthy noting, as the reason they are asking the question is not to worship him. They don’t believe he is Messiah. Rather, they are looking for evidence of Jesus committing blasphemy by claiming to be God. They got their wish.

Jesus has a message for anyone who questions his identity or who opposes him: “I have shown you many good works from the Father… Do not believe me unless I do the works of my Father. But if I do them, even though you do not believe me, believe the works, that you may know and understand that the Father is in me, and I in the Father.””

Believe the works. Believe my actions. See that I am doing what the Father does, in his power, for his glory, sent by him. That’s Jesus’ essential message.

His opponents’ response was to try to seize him. They rejected him. This was expected. John wrote back in chapter 1 that Jesus came to his own and his own did not receive him. That’s the expected, typical, common response.

Jesus calls us to a better response. We don’t have to be like the masses. We can critically assess the miracles he performed and the mercy he showed and his death and resurrection to come to a different response. Believe the works. See that the Father is in Jesus and Jesus is in the Father.

They are one. Not only is Jesus Messiah, he is also one with the Father and with the Spirit. So if you are hearing his voice, respond to your good shepherd and follow him…

Amen.

Marc Kinna

This entry was posted in John and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One With The Father

  1. Pingback: Not About The Name Of The Godhead Of Jesus | From guestwriters

  2. Pingback: Rhetoric and Biblical Truth | From guestwriters

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.