Baptism of Humility and Surrender


Jesus actually needed John’s baptism as much or more than us. The very essence of Jesus’ later struggle in the Garden of Gethsemane was a struggle of humility and surrender. The human will must surrender to the will of God. Jesus exemplified these traits always…

Then Jesus went from Galilee to the Jordan River to be baptized by John. But John tried to talk him out of it. “I am the one who needs to be baptized by you,” he said, “so why are you coming to me?” But Jesus said, “It should be done, for we must carry out all that God requires.” So John agreed to baptize him. After his baptism, as Jesus came up out of the water, the heavens were opened and he saw the Spirit of God descending like a dove and settling on him. And a voice from heaven said, “This is my dearly loved Son, who brings me great joy.”
Matthew 3:13‭-‬17 NLT

Today I noticed something I hadn’t before in terms of Jesus’ response to John. I’m reading the New Living Translation at the moment, which helps reframe some of the interactions.

As I read this today, I could see in my mind the actor from The Chosen saying these words to John: “It should be done, for we must carry out all that God requires.” We must. All of us. All that God requires. Not just you, John, but also me. I am an example of humility and surrender to God for you to follow…

Sometimes extra attention is placed on the fact that Jesus didn’t need to repent and didn’t have sin to turn back from. The very nature of this baptism of John did not apply to Jesus. It bothers us that it comes across like he might have needed it. That’s heresy!!

I think the attention should rather be placed on the attitude of the heart represented in John’s baptism. What was required, as we saw yesterday in the consideration of the religious leaders’ situation, was a heart of humility and surrender. They didn’t have it.

Jesus did. And he wants us to know it. And he actually needed that aspect of John’s baptism as much or more than us. The very essence of Jesus’ struggle in the Garden of Gethsemane was a struggle of humility and surrender. The human will must surrender to the will of God. From the beginning to the end of Jesus’ earthly ministry, he exemplified these traits.

He wants us to follow him by doing likewise. Then we might also bring our Father great joy in heaven like Jesus did…

Amen.

Marc Kinna

 

This entry was posted in Matthew and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.